Emergency Medical Assistants Licensing Board

The Emergency Medical Assistants Licensing Board is responsible for examining, registering and licensing all emergency medical assistants (EMAs) in B.C., including first responders.

The board, under the authority of the Emergency Health Services Act, sets licence terms and conditions. In addition, the board investigates complaints and conducts hearings where necessary.

Notice of Upcoming Hearings

There are currently no scheduled hearings.

Board Members

The board has three appointed members. By law the board must include a licensed EMA and a medical practitioner. The third member sits as the board chair and brings legal expertise.

Ken M. Kramer, Q.C., Chair

Born and raised in Vancouver, British Columbia, Mr. Kramer obtained his Bachelor of Business Administration Degree from Simon Fraser University in 1991 and his Bachelor of Law Degree from the University of British Columbia in 1995.  Mr. Kramer is the founder, President and Senior Associate Counsel with KMK Law Corporation, a boutique law firm located in downtown Vancouver, BC, which provides specialized legal services in the areas of Estates and Trusts law, Wealth Management, Elder Law, Estate Mediation & Litigation.

Mr. Kramer has been a spokesperson and advocate for the disabled community in British Columbia and throughout Canada for the past 20 years.  He has sat and continues to sit on numerous boards of professional, charitable and community interest.   He is also Past Chair of the National Board of Directors of Muscular Dystrophy Canada.

Mr. Kramer has dedicated many volunteer hours to the issues of long-term care and disability supports in our country for persons with disabilities as well as the elderly.  He is currently a member of several national and provincial community and charitable groups advocating and educating all levels of government for improved disability supports throughout Canada.

Mr. Kramer was appointed to the board as the board chair on December 31, 2011, and was reappointed in November of 2016 until December 31, 2017.

 Philip Yoon, MD, MBA, CCFP(EM), FCFP, Vice Chair


Dr. Yoon works as a staff emergency physician at the Royal Columbian and Eagle Ridge Hospitals and is a Clinical Professor within the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of British Columbia. He moved to British Columbia in 2012 from Nova Scotia where he was a Professor in the Faculty of Medicine at Dalhousie University and the District Chief / Department Head of Emergency Medicine.

Prior to his move to the Maritimes in 2009, Dr. Yoon completed all of his medical training at the University of Alberta and was an academic emergency physician based at the University of Alberta Hospital for 13 years.  He also served as the Associate Medical Director of Special Operations for Edmonton EMS. Throughout his medical career, Dr. Yoon has remained involved in emergency medicine operations, administration, education, and research.

He is also a Navy Reserve Medical Officer in the Canadian Armed Forces. Since February 2013, Phil joined British Columbia Emergency Health Services as the Medical Director of the EMS Physician Online Support (EPOS) service.

Dr. Yoon was appointed to the board November 8, 2012, and was reappointed in November of 2015 until December 31, 2018.

Bill Leverett, Member

Bill Leverett started with the British Columbia Ambulance Service in 1979 as a part-time employee in the South Okanagan. He was hired full-time in 1984 for the Vancouver post and completed his advanced life support (ALS) training in 1992. He moved to Victoria as an ALS unit chief in 1994 and completed his air evac training in 1997. In 2002, Bill completed his Master of Arts in Leadership and Training at Royal Roads University in Victoria.

Bill has been active in all aspects of EMA training and continuing medical education. He also served three years on the Victoria Standards of Care Committee. Bill has sat on the Paramedic Association of Canada Advisory Committee developing the National Paramedic Occupational Competency Profiles.

Bill is currently a duty supervisor with the B.C. Ambulance Service in Victoria.

Bill was appointed to the board May 1, 2000, and was reappointed in November of 2015 until December 31, 2017.