Greenhouse Carbon Tax Relief Grant

The Greenhouse Carbon Tax Relief Grant Program accepted applications for 2018 until Friday March 30, 2018.

The Ministry has completed the assessment and verification processes of the 2018 program. The grants were issued the week of July 24th and sent though Canada Post and electronic deposit.

Since 2012 the B.C. government has provided carbon tax relief to B.C. commercial vegetable, floriculture, wholesale nursery and forest seedling greenhouses. The Greenhouse Carbon Tax Relief Grant (GCTRG) covers 80 per cent of the carbon tax paid on natural gas and propane used for greenhouse heating and C02 production.

Eligible Activities

The 2018 program provides eligible B.C. commercial greenhouse growers with a grant equal to 80% of the carbon tax paid on their purchases of natural gas and propane consumed for heating and producing CO2 for their production greenhouses.

Fuel burnt for other purposes, such as heating residential, office or non-eligible production area, vehicles, forklifts or to produce electricity in a CHP engine, is ineligible.

Eligible Applicants

A B.C. commercial greenhouse operator that

  • is a corporation, partnership or individual(s) operating a commercial greenhouse in British Columbia
  • is using natural gas or propane in the operation of their Eligible Production Area for heating or the production of CO2 for crop fertilization, or both
  • had sales in 2017 exceeding $20,000 (for start-ups or new purchases, an operator anticipates sales exceeding $20,000 in 2018) from the production of Eligible Crops
  • has a minimum of 455 square metres (5,000 square feet) of Eligible Production Area
  • is using at least 75% of their total Eligible Production Area for the production of Eligible Crops
  • has completed and submitted the online survey by March 30, 2018

Application Instructions

Applications for 2018 are now closed.

Applications or supporting material such as the survey, fuel invoices or annual summary of fuel usage received after March 30, 2018, will be deemed ineligible. 

British Columbia