Natural Resource Sector System Development Life Cycle

The System Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is the process for conducting system and application development projects and assignments in the natural resource sector (NRS).

It guides information management and information technology vendors, staff, and clients in the creation and maintenance of information management systems. 

Standards and Templates Search

Overview documents:

New Development Projects

New development projects follow three development phases: initiation and planning; requirements, design, build and deploy; and operations and sustainability. These phases apply to all types of project methodologies including iterative, waterfall, and agile. 

Before you begin

Activities to complete before beginning a project.

Phase 1: Initiation and Planning

Working with business and technical resources to plan and define the scope, approach, budget and work plan.

Phase 2: Requirements, Design, Build, Deploy

Activities to produce the product such as requirements, design, build, test and deploy are in this phase. Quality management is essential during this phase, in addition to other monitoring and control.

Phase 3: Operations/Sustainability

This phase includes product stabilization, post implementation review, achieving project material, and releasing team members from the project. At the end any new implementation, a key deliverable must be created that will identify what the release management plan will be in order to continue to support the new application.

Maintenance Projects

Maintenance of an existing systems application follows a very similar process to phases as a new development project with some streamlining of the requirements and design phases.

The maintenance lifecycle consists of initiation, requirements and design, build and implementation.

Standards and deliverables for the maintenance of an existing application follow the existing SDLC phases.