Indigenous Governing Bodies

Indigenous Governing Bodies for the purpose of providing notice under section 12 of An Act respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families

Section 12 of the federal Act respecting First Nation, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families requires the director under the Child, Family and Community Service Act to provide notice of significant measures to the Indigenous Governing Body to which a child belongs. Current Ministry of Children and Family Development policy interprets significant measures as being broader than court proceedings.

The same provision requires the Indigenous Governing Body to inform the Ministry of Children and Family Development that it is authorized to act on behalf of a section 35 rights-holding collective for the purposes of notice.

Documentation can be submitted to Denise Devenny, Assistant Deputy Minister, Partnerships and Indigenous Engagement Division, Ministry of Children and Family Development:
by email to:
or by mail to:

Denise Devenny, Assistant Deputy Minister 
Partnerships and Indigenous Engagement Division
Ministry of Children and Family Development
PO BOX 9745 STN PROV GOVT         
Victoria, BC
V8V 0C5



Name of Indigenous Governing Body

Community, group or people with rights under s. 35 of the Constitution Act that is represented by the Indigenous Governing Body

Alternate Name (if applicable) Band Number (if applicable) Contact Information for Indigenous Governing Body

Cowichan Tribes Chief and Council

Effective Date: April 30, 2020

Cowichan Tribes

  • Kw’amutsun
  • Qwum’yiqun’
  • Hwulqwselu
  • S’amuna’
  • L’uml’umuluts
  • Hinupsum
  • Tl’ulpalus


Cowichan Tribes General Manager
Phone number: 250-748-3196
Fax: 250-748-1233

Mailing Address:
5760 Allenby Road
Duncan, BC V9L 5J1

Lake Babine Nation

Effective Date: November 23, 2020

Lake Babine Nation



Primary Contact:
Fern Abraham, Child and Family Services Team Lead

Phone Numbers:
(778) 763-0409 (office & fax)
(250) 692-9908 (cell)

Alternate Contact (if primary does not respond via phone or email within 24 hours):

Emma Palmantier, Health Director

Phone Numbers:
250-692-4726 (office)
250-617-1987 (cell)

Fax Number: 250-692-4726


Mailing Address:
PO Box 879, Burns Lake, BC V0J 1E0

McLeod Lake Indian Band

Effective Date: September 15, 2021

McLeod Lake Indian Band    

Primary Contact: Chris Branigan, Family Worker

Phone Numbers:
250-750-6853 (office) 
250-617-3296 (cell)
Fax Number: 250-750-4420



Alternate Contact (if primary does not respond via phone or email within 24 hours):
Meaghan Van Somer, Health Director

Phone Numbers:
250-750-4415 (office) 
250-851-5172 (cell)
Fax Number: 250-750-4420


Mailing Address: 
61 Sekani Drive, General Delivery, McLeod Lake, BC, V0J 2G0

Nisga’a Lisims Government

Effective Date: April 1, 2020

Nisga’a Lisims Nation

  • Gitlaxt'aamiks (formerly New Aiyansh) Village
  • Nisga'a Village of Gitlakdamix
  • Laxgalts’ap Village
  • Gingolx Village


  • N/A
  • N/A
  • Lakalzap Band
  • Gingolx First Nation




Director of Programs and Services
Phone Number: 250-633-3019
Fax: 250-633-3086

Mailing Address:
PO Box 231, 2000 Lisims Drive
Gitlaxt'aamiks (formerly New Aiyansh), BC V0J 1A0

Simpcw Chief and Council

Effective Date: June 1, 2020

Simpcw First Nation

Simpcw North Thompson Indian Band

North Thompson Indian Band


Social Development Manager
Phone number: 250-672-9995

Fax: 250-672-5858
Mailing Address: Box 220 Barriere, BC V0E 1E0

Alternate contact:
Simpcw Councillor
Phone number: 250-672-9995