Statutory Holidays

Employees get paid for statutory holidays if they qualify

Upcoming statutory holidays

2019
Remembrance Day Monday, November 11
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25
2020
New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1
Family Day Monday, February 17
Good Friday Friday, April 10
Victoria Day Monday, May 18
Canada Day Wednesday, July 1
B.C. Day Monday, August 3
Labour Day Monday, September 7
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 12
Remembrance Day Wednesday, November 11
Christmas Day Friday, December 25

Easter Sunday, Easter Monday and Boxing Day are not statutory holidays in B.C.

See a list of past statutory holidays


Get statutory holiday pay

Step 1: Check that an employee qualifies for statutory holiday pay. Learn what the basic rules are to qualify for statutory holiday pay and see which employees are not included.

Step 2: Calculate statutory holiday pay. Statutory holiday pay is equal to an average day's pay. Employees are paid statutory holiday pay if they work or take the day off.


Substitute a different day

Employers and employees may agree (in writing) to substitute another day for a statutory holiday. The substitute day must be treated the same as a statutory holiday.