Ministry of Energy, Mines & Petroleum Resources

The Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources is responsible for British Columbia’s electricity, alternative energy, mining and petroleum resource sectors. The Ministry is responsible for the following Crown Corporations: BC Hydro, Columbia Power Corporation, BC Oil and Gas Commission and Columbia Basin Trust. 

Featured Topics

Featured Services

  • MapPlace
    Browse, visualize, and analyze multidisciplinary geoscience data online.
  • Mineral Titles Online
    An online mineral titles administration system.
  • Mineral Development Office
    The Mineral Development Office is the Vancouver base of the British Columbia Geological Survey.
  • Petroleum or Natural Gas Tenure 
    By entering into a tenure agreement with the Province, private industry can develop petroleum resources. 
  • Royalty Programs 
    The Province collects royalties for oil and gas developments on crown land. Applications can be accessed here.