Ministries and organizations

Last updated on March 10, 2023

The Government of B.C. is made up of ministries, agencies and Crown corporations. Browse ministry, agency and Crown corporation websites for the latest news, service plans, publications and more.


The B.C. Public Service is divided into ministries. Each ministry is responsible for a specific area of public policy, government function or service delivery.

Central government agencies

There are a number of independent or partially independent agencies, boards and commissions that are essential to the effective governance of the province. Agencies include: authorities, boards, commissions, corporations and councils. The definition of public agency also includes any of the bodies established by the government on an interim basis to perform arbitration, regulation or similar functions.

Crown corporations

Crown corporations are technically owned by the government, they operate at arm’s length from the public service and the elected officials of the government of the day.

Independent boards, commissions & tribunals

Independent boards, commissions and tribunals established by government to perform arbitration, regulation or a similar function.  The provincial government appoints at least one representative to these agencies.

BC Gov News

Access the latest B.C. government news at BC Gov News.