Who to Talk to About BC Public Service Employee Ethics

Ask your supervisor or manager if you have questions about ethics. You may also choose to talk with your organization’s Ethics Advisor.

General questions about the Standards of Conduct can also be submitted through AskMyHR.

Ethics Advisors

The role of the Ethics Advisor is assigned to a Deputy Minister, Associate Deputy Minister, Assistant Deputy Minister, or executive lead. Ethics Advisors are expected to demonstrate active leadership in upholding the BC Public Service commitment to integrity and ensuring ethics are understood to be a corporate priority.

The ethics advisory service is only available to employees appointed under the Public Service Act.


  • Provide advice on Standards of Conduct issues, including addressing possible conflicts of interest and ethics issues
  • Promote knowledge and resources within their ministries to encourage a BC Public Service culture that supports employees and supervisors to address ethics issues
  • Seek guidance and advice from the BC Public Service Agency and other central agencies on ethics issues that are complex or can't be easily resolved
  • Actively and visibly champion the importance of ethics within their ministry and the corporate network of ethics advisors
  • Work with government’s Corporate Ethics Lead to ensure a consistent and coordinated approach to ethics management across the public service
  • Direct employee questions to the right services - ethics advisors don't usually perform investigations
  • Receive disclosures and provide advice to employees within their ministry under the Public Interest Disclosure Act (PIDA), including transferring disclosures to the Agency Designated Officer in a timely way

Contact Your Ethics Advisor

The Ethics Advisors are listed below by organization.

Ministry Ethics Advisor
Office of the Premier
Intergovernmental Relations
Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills & Training Kevin Brewster
Ministry of Agriculture Gavin Last
Ministry of Attorney General Geoff Moyse
Liquor Distribution Branch Michael Procopio
Ministry of Children & Family Development Rob Byers
Ministry of Citizens’ Services Bobbi Sadler
Ministry of Education Jennifer McCrea
Ministry of Energy, Mines & Petroleum Resources Les MacLaren
Ministry of Environment & Climate Change Strategy James Mack
Ministry of Finance & Deputy Premier Jim Hopkins
BC Public Service Agency Deb Godfrey
Government Communication & Public Engagement

Donna Evans

Public Sector Employers’ Council Secretariat Chris Rathbone
Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations & Rural Development Diane Nicholls
Ministry of Indigenous Relations & Reconciliation Jennifer Melles
Ministry of Health Susan Wood
Ministry of Jobs, Economic Development & Competitiveness Joanna White
Ministry of Labour Trevor Hughes
Ministry of Mental Health & Addictions Dara Landry
Ministry of Municipal Affairs & Housing David Curtis
Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General Patricia Boyle
Emergency Management BC Alex Chandler
Ministry of Social Development & Poverty Reduction Debi Upton
Ministry of Tourism, Arts & Culture David Curtis
Ministry of Transportation & Infrastructure David Greer

Corporate Ethics Lead

Ethics Advisors work with the corporate ethics lead to ensure a consistent and coordinated approach to ethics management across the public service.

The current corporate ethics lead is:

Okenge Yuma Morisho, Deputy Minister, BC Public Service Agency & Corporate Ethics Lead

Corporate Ethics Governance Council

The Deputy Ministers representing three central agencies comprise the Corporate Ethics Governance Council. The Council has an overarching mandate for ethics and compliance management in the BC Public Service (BCPS). It's responsible for the coordination, management, and oversight of the integrated ethics framework to ensure that government is meeting its core HR policy objective that “all public service employees will exhibit the highest standards of conduct."

Ethics Framework Contacts

Find contact information for the Treasury Board, Office of the Comptroller General, BC Public Service Agency, Corporate Information & Records Management Office, and the Office of the Chief Information Officer.