British Columbia Public Service Hall of Excellence

The BC Public Service Hall of Excellence was established to recognize those individuals who have made exceptional and lasting contributions to the province of British Columbia.

The recipients are determined as part of the Premier’s Innovation and Excellence Awards, a program that has recognized public service achievements since 2004. Beginning in 2014, recipients of the Legacy award are also welcomed into the Hall of Excellence – the highest form of recognition that the BC Public Service can extend to its employees.

Adjudicators and judges who are external to the BC Public Service determine the Premier’s Awards finalists and winners in six categories: Emerging Leader, Innovation, Leadership, Organizational Excellence, Partnership and Legacy.

The inaugural induction of the Hall of Excellence took place at the provincial Premier’s Awards ceremony in Victoria on October 8, 2014, where Premier Christy Clark recognized both the 2014 recipients and past recipients of the Legacy award.

Members received a BC Public Service Hall of Excellence medallion and lapel pin. The designs for both feature the provincial flower, tree and shield of arms. The flower, Cornus nuttallii, is commonly known as the flowering dogwood. The two leaves surrounding the shield are from the province’s tree, Thuja plicata Donn – commonly known as the western red cedar. The shield of arms was granted by Royal Warrant of King Edward VII in 1906. As the shield of arms is the oldest emblem of the province, it is the centre of this most distinguished award.

Banner that shows the Hall of Excellence medallion on a field of blue