Accreditation of Child & Family Service Organizations

Accreditation is a rigorous process that certifies that an organization meets certain standards set by the accrediting body.

To help ensure accountability and quality assurance, certain service providers are required to be accredited in order to deliver contracted services on behalf of:

  •     The Ministry of Children and Family Development (MCFD)
  •     Community Living British Columbia (CLBC)

Find out more about the bodies that are approved to accredit programs and services provided on behalf of MCFD and CLBC:

Service providers with accredited status demonstrate that they have an appropriate level of proficiency and are able to continually improve the quality of services being delivered.

Organizations That Require Accreditation

Under accreditation policy, contractors with total annual contracts of $500,000 or more with the MCFD and/or CLBC are required to be accredited by COA or CARF.

Aboriginal services are exempt from the accreditation policy, but may participate under the same conditions as non-Aboriginal contractors.

Accreditation costs: The provincial government will help service provider organizations cover the direct costs of accreditation, such as:

  • Application fees
  • Accreditation fees
  • Site review or survey fees
  • Annual fees
  • Manual fees

Funding is provided for:

  • Agencies that are required to be accredited by government policy
  • One accreditation in a three-year (CARF) or four-year (COA) cycle
  • Accreditation of programs (CARF) funded by MCFD or CLBC