Managing eTaxBC Account Access

You can manage your own eTaxBC account access by

  1. Adding access to another tax account
  2. Cancelling your online access

You can also manage how other users access your account by

  1. Requesting access to a client’s account
  2. Creating additional logons
  3. Approving or denying a third-party's request to access your account
  4. Changing a logon’s access type
  5. Changing a logon’s access level
  6. Deactivating a logon
  7. Reactivating a deactivated logon

Adding access to another tax account

If you have a tax account, you can add access to almost any other tax account on the same entity. To add access to another tax account:

  1. Log on to your eTaxBC account
  2. Under I Want To, select Add access to additional account
  3. Select the tax account type
  4. Enter the account number
  5. Select Next
  6. Validate the required account information
  7. Select Submit

Cancelling your online access

If you cancel your online access, you will not be able to log on to eTaxBC. To cancel your online access:

  1. Log on to your eTaxBC account
  2. Select Settings
  3. Under I Want To, select Cancel my logon
  4. Type in your current password and select OK. You will be immediately logged out of eTaxBC

Requesting access to a client’s account

To request access to another business’ account in eTaxBC the other account must have an eTaxBC logon in order to approve your request.

  1. Log on to your eTaxBC account
  2. Select Settings
  3. Under I Want To, select Request access to client’s account
  4. Select your client's Account Type from the drop down list and enter your client’s account information
  5. Select the Access Level you are requesting:
    • File Returns: You can only file returns on behalf of your client
    • File Returns and Make Payments: You can file returns and make payments on behalf of your client
    • Make Payments: You can only make payments on behalf of your client
    • View: You can only view your client's account
  6. Select Next
  7. Select Submit

Creating additional logons

To create another logon with access to your account in eTaxBC:

  1. Log on to your eTaxBC account
  2. Select Settings
  3. Under I Want To, select Manage logons
  4. Select the Add button
  5. Complete the required fields
  6. Select the Type of Access
    • Full Access: Can manage Account Manager logons and third-party accesses, as well as change entity information
    • Account Manager: Can only manage account information on accounts they are granted access to
  7. Select Next
  8. Select Grant Access beside any of the accounts you wish to provide the logon access to, then select the type of access from the drop down box
    • File Returns: The logon will only be able to file returns on the account
    • File Returns and Make Payments: The logon will be able to file returns and make payments on the account
    • Make Payments: The logon will only be able to make payments on the account
    • View: The logon will only be able to view the account
  9. Select Submit

An email is sent to this person with further instructions. The link in the email must be used within 24 hours. If the link is not used within 24 hours, you can Resend logon access email from within your account. Once you add an Account Manager logon, you can change or cancel their access at any time.

Approving or denying a third-party’s request to access your account

A third-party, such as an accountant or bookkeeper, can request access to your eTaxBC account from their eTaxBC account. You will receive an email stating that a person has requested access to your account. You can approve or deny their request.

Approve a Request for Access

To approve a request:

  1. Log on to your eTaxBC account
  2. Select Settings
  3. Under I Want To, select View third-party requests for access
  4. If there are multiple requests for access, select the link for the correct account(s) under the Requested Account ID column
  5. Review the information of the user requesting access to your account
  6. Select the Access Level you want to provide them with:
    • File Returns: they can only file returns on your behalf
    • File Returns and Make Payments: they can file returns and make payments on your behalf
    • Make Payments: they can only make payments on your behalf
    • View: they can only view your account
  7. Select Approve
  8. Select Submit

When you give a third-party access to your account, they will also have the ability to share access with their employees. You will be notified when a new logon has been given access to your account and you can change or cancel their access at any time.

Deny a Request for Access

To deny a request:

  1. Log on to your eTaxBC account
  2. Select Settings
  3. Under I Want To, select View third-party requests for access
  4. If there are multiple requests for access, select the link for the correct account under the Requested Account ID column
  5. Review the information of the user requesting access to your account
  6. Select Deny
  7. Select Submit

When you deny a third-party access to your account, the requestor will be notified by email.

Changing a logon’s access type

Access type is a security feature used to determine if someone who logs on to eTaxBC has Full Access or is an Account Manager.

  • An eTaxBC logon with Full Access can add, delete and change security levels for all Account Managers and third-parties with access to your account. They can also view, file, pay and change names and addresses at the entity (legal) and account level

  • An eTaxBC logon setup as an Account Manager can view, file and/or pay for one or more specific account types depending on the access level that an eTaxBC logon with Full Access has set up for the user. They can change names and addresses at the account level only

Only an eTaxBC logon with Full Access can change an access type and may only change an Account Manager to a Full Access logon. To change a logon's access:

  1. Log on to your eTaxBC account
  2. Select Settings
  3. Under I Want To, select Manage logons
  4. Select the logon name you wish to change
  5. Under I Want To, select Manage access
  6. Select the Account Manager
  7. Select the Type of Access you wish to grant the user from the dropdown
  8. Select Save

Changing a logon’s access level

Access levels are defined for the usernames when access to accounts has been added. The access levels are:

  • File Returns: Allows the logon to view all information and file returns
  • Make Payments: Allows the logon to view all information and make payments
  • File Returns and Make Payments: Allows the logon to view all information, file returns and make payments
  • View: Allows the logon to only view information

Only an eTaxBC Full Access logon can change an access level of Account Manager or Third-Party logons with access to their entity. To change a logon's access level:

  1. Log on to your eTaxBC account
  2. Select Settings
  3. Under I Want To, select Manage logons
  4. Select the logon name you wish to change
  5. Under I Want To, select Manage access
  6. To grant access to an account the logon does not currently have access to, select Grant Access beside the account
  7. To remove access to an account the logon currently has access to, select Remove Access beside the account
  8. To change an existing access level, select the access level beside the appropriate account
  9. Select the new access level from the drop-down box
  10. Select Save

Deactivating a logon

If you no longer want a logon to be able to log on to eTaxBC:

  1. Log on to your eTaxBC account
  2. Select Settings
  3. Under I Want To, select Manage logons
  4. Select the logon name you want to cancel
  5. Under I Want To select Deactivate logon
  6. Yes

The logon will now be greyed out when you view the Manage logons screen. This logon won’t be able to log on to eTaxBC unless you reactivate the user’s access.

Reactivating a deactivated logon

If you previously deactivated a logon’s access to eTaxBC, you can reactivate it. To reactivate access:

  1. Log on to your eTaxBC account
  2. Select Settings
  3. Under I Want To, select Manage logons
  4. Select the Logon name you want to restore
  5. Under I Want To, select Reactivate access
  6. Select Yes to confirm
  7. Select OK