Web policy and content standards

Last updated: October 14, 2022

Web content created for the B.C. government must follow the guidelines in the Web Standards and Guides and the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) Level AA. The only exception is the reading level of content, which must meet WCAG Level AAA

Our web content should:

  • Follow accessible and inclusive design practices
  • Help people find and use the information and services they need
  • Communicate government policies and programs

Government Digital Experience (GDX) sets the standard for web content with the authority described in Core Policies and Procedures Manual (CPPM) Chapter 22.

If you have any comments or questions, please contact us at: WebStandards@gov.bc.ca