Stage 1 - In-class

School districts and independent school authorities should have the necessary plans in place to be able to shift between stages if and when required.

Last update: August 10, 2020

On this page:

Five Stages Framework for K-12 Education: Stage 1 | Stage 2 | Stage 3 | Stage 4 | Stage 5

Instructional Delivery

  • In-class instruction provided full-time for all K-12 students as per regular operating procedures
  • No limit to learning group size
  • School density targets are not applicable for this stage

Curriculum, Report Cards & Assessment

  • Full breadth of provincial curriculum for all students at all grade levels
  • Educators plan for and deliver learning through a variety of methods appropriate to the stage and the needs of their students
  • Student Reporting Policy remains in effect for K-12
  • Provincial student assessments (Foundational Skills, Numeracy & Literacy) remain in effect for K-12
  • Individual Education Plans (IEPs) must be updated annually and progress reports provided for each reporting period for all students including students who have an IEP

Health & Safety[1]

  • Regular health and safety policies and procedures

Students Requiring Additional Support

  • Regular operating levels of in-class instruction
  • Consideration should be given to monitoring and responding to the needs of children and youth in care and Indigenous students as appropriate

Children of Essential Service Workers

  • Regular operating levels of in-class instruction
  • If desired, school districts/authorities can partner with a licensed child care provider or become licensed to provide before and after school care

[1] Stage-specific health and safety expectations are subject to change further to updated public health guidance from the Provincial Health Officer and the BC Centre for Disease Control.