Disaster Financial Assistance

Following a disaster, the provincial government may declare the event eligible for Disaster Financial Assistance (DFA). Once declared, the DFA program may compensate individuals for essential uninsurable losses and/or reimburse local governments for damaged infrastructure.


The provincial government works closely with local governments to determine if and when an event should be eligible. Disaster Financial Assistance is only available for provincial disasters after the provincial government has declared them eligible. 

Individuals should contact their local authority if they have been impacted by a disaster or emergency event. 

Eligibility Requirements

  • Private sector damage (such as damage to personal homes) must be from an event that is uninsurable.
  • Damages from certain landslides may be eligible, if it can be shown that the landslide is the direct result of heavy rainfall or other sudden catastrophic event, and not caused by pre-existing slope instability.
  • Insurable damages in the private sector are NOT eligible for DFA. For example, damage caused by: 
    • wildfires 
    • earthquakes
    • snow load
    • wind storms
    • sewer or sump pit back-up
    • water entry from above ground (including roofs, windows or other areas of the building)

The forms and additional information page sorts resources and information for the private sector and local authorities.