Municipal police boards

In British Columbia, municipal police departments are overseen by an appointed police board made up of civilian members of the community. Under the Police Act a municipal police board, in consultation with the Chief Constable, is required to determine the priorities, goals and objectives of the police department.

A police board consists of the mayor, who acts as chair, one person appointed by the municipal council and up to seven people appointed by the province. Board members are selected from a variety of backgrounds and can serve up to a maximum of six years. Board members are volunteers; however related training and travel expenses are covered.