Health Technology Assessment Committee

The Health Technology Assessment Committee (HTAC) makes evidence-informed recommendations on which health technologies should be publicly provided in the province. For more information about the BC Health Technology Assessment process, please see this page.

Below the members and the secretariat for HTAC are listed (last updated September 4, 2020).

Health Authority Representatives

Angela De Smit
Chief Operating Officer, Northern Interior, Northern Health

Sean Hardiman
Provincial Clinical Director, Cardiac Services BC, Provincial Health Services Authority

Jim Hutchinson, Co-Chair
Medical Director, Antimicrobial Stewardship, Island Health

Dermot Kelly
Vice President, Quality, Access and Flow, Fraser Health

Berna Marcelino
Provincial Director, Supply Chain, Provincial Health Services Authority

Geoff McKee
Medical Health Officer, Vancouver Coastal

Kimberly Stevenson
Senior Lead, Surgical Strategy, Interior Health

Ministry Representative

Mary Ackenhusen, Co-chair
Senior Executive, Deputy Minister’s Office, Ministry of Health

Professional Members

Mark Harrison
Health Economist

Duncan Steele

Arminée Kazanjian
Scientific Advisor

Public Members

Fay Low

Barbara O'Meara


Robert Bacigalupo
Policy Analyst, Research and Innovation Branch, Ministry of Health

Jemal Mohamed
Senior Health Economist, Research and Innovation Branch, Ministry of Health

Manik Saini
Director, Research and Innovation Branch, Ministry of Health