K-12 Public Education Funding Model Implementation

The funding allocation system annually distributes more than $6.6 billion of provincial funding among 60 Boards of Education.

This is the first time the Funding Model has been reviewed in nearly three decades and it is a commitment identified in the Minister of Education’s mandate letter from the Premier.

Because the funding model is incredibly complex, it was important to hear all perspectives and take the time to get things right. We don’t know of any other jurisdiction that has had this level of consultation for a review like this -- with input from teachers, support workers, parents, inclusive education advocacy groups, First Nations, all 60 school districts and over 350 education stakeholders.

The Ministry worked closely with the BC School Trustees Association (BCSTA) – co-governors of the education system – to establish a statement of purpose and guiding principles with the goal of working together to create a better model that is responsive, stable and predictable, flexible, transparent, accountable and puts students’ needs first. These principles have guided all work to date, and it will continue guide any future decisions.

In February, 2018, the Minister of Education appointed an Independent Review Panel that met with all 60 school districts and heard from over 350 education stakeholders. 

The Independent Funding Model Review panel presented a final report on December 18, 2018, with 22 recommendations along three themes: equity, accountability, and financial management.

Because of the scope of the recommendations, Government decided to take extra time and have further consultations to better understand the implications of the recommendations for the education system.

Four Working Groups were established to assess the implications of the Panel’s recommendations with the goal of identifying any challenges and providing suggestions to get things right. The Working Groups included representation from teachers, parents, inclusive education advocacy groups, First Nations, school administrators, support staff, and all education partner organizations. They met between March and August 2019 to engage further on the key areas and themes identified in the Panel report. The Working Groups shared an update in a Progress Report in the summer, 2019 (PDF, 3.1MB) and presented the final reports to the Minister of Education in October, 2019.

Working Group Reports

 Read the Working Group reports:

The Working Groups included representation from the following education partners and organizations:

  • BC Association of School Business Officials
  • BC Confederation of Parent Advisory Councils
  • BC Council of Administrators of Inclusive Supports in Education
  • BC Distributed Learning Administrator’s Association
  • BC Principals’ & Vice-Principals’ Association
  • BC School District Continuing Education Directors Association
  • BC School Superintendents Association
  • BC School Trustees Association
  • BC Teachers’ Federation
  • BCEdAccess
  • Canadian Union of Public Employees BC
  • English Language Learners Consortium
  • Family Support Institute of BC
  • First Nations Education Steering Committee
  • Inclusion BC
  • Metis Nation BC
  • Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills and Training
  • Office of the Auditor General
  • Representative for Children and Youth
  • Rural Education Advisory Committee


Next Steps

  • In the coming months, Government will be working to better understand the valuable insights from the working group reports before making any final decisions.
  • Government will also continue to consult with education partners and stakeholders throughout each step in the process.
  • No matter what is decided on the funding model, Government is committed to ensuring B.C. has an equitable education system that supports all students to succeed no matter what their learning needs, their background or where they live in B.C.