Industry Classification

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

The NAICS is a hierarchical classification system developed jointly by Canada, the U.S. and Mexico to provide a common statistical framework for economic analysis among the three countries. NAICS replaces the Standard Industrial Classification System (SIC) and categories are constructed on a production/process-oriented basis.

Whereas the SIC used four digits for classification, the NAICS uses six:

XX Industry Sector
XXX Industry Subsector
XXXX Industry Group
XXXXX Industry
XXXXXX Country-Specific Industry Detail

See Statistics Canada’s list of Industry Classifications