The Competitive Selection Process for Highway Maintenance Agreements

The procurement requirements for the 2018/2019 Highway Maintenance Agreements includes:

  • Request for Qualifications (RFQ) phase, including:
    • Submission of organizational and quality management information in a pre-qualification process;
  • Request for Proposals (RFP) phase, including:
    • Submission of a consent of surety, bid bond (or irrevocable letter of credit), statutory declaration and an undertaking to provide liability insurance; and
    • Submission of a maintenance services proposal and a price proposal.

Results of Recently Completed Processes

2018/2019 Highway Maintenance Agreements

Procurements for 26 service areas that were part of the 2018/2019 Highway Maintenance Agreements procurement process were completed between September 2017 and October 2019. 

Summary of Successful Proponents from the 2018-19 Highway Maintenance Agreements RFPs
Service Area Company
1 - South Island EMCON Services Inc.
2 - Central Island Mainroad Mid-Island Contracting Limited Partnership, by its General Partner Mainroad Mid-Island Contracting Ltd.
3 - North Island Mainroad North Island Contracting Limited Partnership, by its General Partner Mainroad North Island Contracting Ltd.
4 - Howe Sound Miller Capilano Highway Services Ltd.
5 - Sunshine Coast Capilano Highway Services Company
6 - Lower Mainland Mainroad Lower Mainland Contracting Limited Partnership, by its General Partner Mainroad Lower Mainland Contracting Ltd.
7 - Fraser Valley Emil Anderson Maintenance Co. Ltd
8 - South Okanagan AIM Roads Inc.
9 - Kootenay Boundary Yellowhead Road & Bridge (Kootenay Boundary) Ltd.
10 - Central Kootenay Yellowhead Road & Bridge (Kootenay) Ltd.
12 - Selkirk EMCON Services Inc.
13 - Okanagan-Shuswap AIM Roads Inc.
14 - Nicola Yellowhead Road & Bridge (Nicola) Ltd.
15 - Thompson Argo Road Maintenance (Thompson) Inc.
16 - South Cariboo Dawson Road Maintenance Ltd.
17 - Central Cariboo Dawson Road Maintenance Ltd.
18 - North Cariboo EMCON Services Inc
19 - Fort George Yellowhead Road & Bridge (Fort George) Ltd.
21 - South Peace Argo Road Maintenance (South Peace) Inc.
22 - North Peace Dawson Road Maintenance Ltd.
23 - Nechako Yellowhead Road & Bridge (Vanderhoof) Ltd.
24 - Lakes Lakes District Maintenance Inc.
25 - Bulkley -Nass Dawson Road Maintenance Ltd.
26 - Skeena 141187 Ventures Ltd.
27 - North Coast O'Brien Road & Bridge Maintenance Ltd.
28 - Stikine Lakes District Maintenance Inc.

Service Area 11 (2016)

In 2012, the ministry reached agreements with the BC Road Builders & Heavy Construction Association to extend 27 of the 28 existing highway maintenance agreements for an additional five years (mostly through to 2018-19). The highway maintenance agreement for Service Area 11 – East Kootenay was not extended.  A new agreement began in September, 2016.