Community funding application information

As part of the Community Wood Smoke Reduction Program, the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change Strategy in partnership with the BC Lung Foundation offers funding to eligible applicants to start or continue a local program.

On this page

Eligibility requirements

Any local government, non-profit organization or airshed or air quality management organization in B.C. is eligible to receive funds to start a community wood smoke reduction program.

Organizations applying for funding must demonstrate:

  • High local or regional need
  • Strong community buy-in
  • Capacity to deliver the program 
  • Offer a long-term plan for education and program sustainability

Individual communities may submit proposals or join with other communities or the regional district to submit a proposal.

Communities are encouraged to offer the program over multiple years to build momentum and encourage lasting change.

Programs can be operated:

  • All year round
  • In the fall
  • In March and April during the industry discount period

Apply for funding

Groups interested in starting or extending the program for winter 2023/2024 are invited to submit a proposal.

The application deadline closes September 1, 2023.

The program continues to accept funding applications from First Nations communities. Please email the program to learn more.

Program update

Please review:

Proposal criteria

Please review:

Funding decisions

Applications are evaluated using the Community Wood Smoke Reduction Program Community Criteria 2023/2024 (PDF, 128KB).

Community funding

In July 2022, the BC Lung Foundation and the ministry issued a call for community proposals for the CWSRP.

Proposals were received on September 23rd, 2023 and evaluated by BC Lung and the ministry.

Funding was announced in November 2022.

Communities and amount of funding

City or Region Grant ($)
Bulkley Valley and Lakes District $15,000
City of Kamloops $23,000
Coldstream/ Lumby/Cherryville $6,175
Comox Valley Regional District $73,000
District of Vanderhoof $3,250
Golden and District $19,000
Kitimat-Terrace and surrounding areas $20,000
Metro Vancouver Regional District  $17,000

Prince George and unincorporated areas of the Fraser - Fort George Regional District

qathet Regional District $14,000
Regional District of Central Kootenay $2,750
Regional District of Nanaimo $46,750
Salt Spring Island $11,200
Village of Valemount $3,900
Total $268,625

Communities continuing with previously granted funding:

  • Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District
  • Cowichan Valley Regional District
  • Fraser Valley Regional District
  • Regional District of Central Okanagan
  • Strathcona Regional District
  • Sunshine Coast Regional District, Squamish-Lillooet Regional District, Bowen Island, Horseshoe Bay, Lions Bay