Steering Committee

The BC Road Safety Strategy 2025: A Collaborative Framework for Road Safety is led by the BC Road Safety Strategy Steering Committee. Members contribute a broad scope of knowledge and experience regarding road safety to help achieve the targets included in the BC Road Safety Strategy.

The Steering Committee:

  • Champions Vision Zero–the elimination of deaths and serious injuries from traffic crashes, and the shared accountability of road safety in the province, and the advancement of the Stockholm Declaration to reduce serious injuries and fatalities on our roads by 50% in 2030.
  • Ensures capacity and commitment from within each members’ organization in order to support The BC Road Safety Strategy 2025: A Collaborative Framework for Road Safety,
  • Brings forward important road safety topics as well as strategic direction and priorities from across member organizations, to leverage opportunities and solutions,
  • Contributes updates on projects from steering committee member organizations to demonstrate progress towards targets under the Road Safety Strategy, 
  • Provides leadership on sub-committee projects that are based on an evidence-based, data-driven approach.  


The Steering Committee membership includes representation from across many partner organizations:

Co-chair: Amy Miller, Superintendent of Motor Vehicles, Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General

Co-chair: Dr. Andrew Larder, Office of the Provincial Health Officer

Neil Arason, Lead, Injury Prevention and Safety Promotion, Island Health Authority

Ardys Baker, A/Executive Director, Policy, Legislation and Police Modernization Division, Policing and Security Branch, Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General

Colin Bowbrick, Policy Analyst, Doctors of BC

Santabhanu Chakrabarti, Cardiologist and Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, UBC

Chief Neil Dubord, (Delta Police Department) Chair of the BC Association of Chiefs of Police Traffic Safety Committee

Andrea Godfreyson, Director, Injury & Clinical Prevention, Population & Public Health, Ministry of Health

Lisa Lapointe, Chief Coroner, Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General

Kenedee Ludwar, Director, Transportation Systems and Road Safety Engineering, Traffic Engineering, Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure

Lindsay Matthews, Vice President, Public Affairs and Driver Licensing, ICBC

Doug Pasco, Manager, OHS Consultation and Education Services, Agriculture, Road Safety, Small Business, Prevention Division, WorkSafeBC

Dr. Ian Pike, Professor, Pediatrics and Director, BC Injury Research and Prevention Unit

Ian Pilkington, A/Assistant Deputy Minister of Engineering, Highways Department, Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure

Chief Superintendent Holly Turton, Vice-Chair of the BC Association of Chiefs of Police Traffic Safety Committee

Cyra Yunkws, Director, Kitimat-Stikine Regional District, Union of BC Municipalities

Sub-committees and Working Groups:

The Steering Committee is continuing to work on identifying priorities and how we can work together on road safety initiatives as a broader group. Under the previous strategies, working groups collaborated on projects that were based on the safe systems approach. While the safe systems approach will be an important component of how we move forward, we are taking a different method as to how Road Safety Strategy sub-committees will be formed.

As part of this process, the Steering Committee is reviewing current data sets on top contributing factors to serious road crash injuries and deaths in BC. By reviewing this data, we will take an evidence-based approach to forming sub-committees that will help us focus our attention on initiatives that will make positive and meaningful impacts on road safety. We will also use an evidence-based approach to identify measures, practices and methods to be as effective as possible, and to maximize our impact.

More information on Road Safety Strategy sub-committees will be shared as we move forward, including information on how our road safety partners can participate.

Measuring Progress:

In alignment with Canada’s Road Safety Strategy 2025, the Steering Committee will support projects that strive for continuous downward trends in the rate-based number of fatalities and serious injuries.

The Steering Committee will report out regularly to road safety networks and stakeholders on actions and initiatives committed to under the Framework

Overall performance will be measured by an annual downward trending over the next ten years in fatalities and serious injuries per 100,000 population.