Council of the Federation Literacy Award

What is the Council of the Federation Literacy Award?

The Council of the Federation (COF) Literacy Award was established by Canada’s Premiers to recognize outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy. Canada’s provinces and territories are repositories of innovative principles, practices and programs that reflect the very highest ideals in literacy best practices, and serve the varying needs of many different types of learners. Each year, 13 COF Literacy medallions are awarded, one for each province and territory. 

In 2020, British Columbia will celebrate the achievements of a literacy-related organizations that help Indigenous, workplace or community literacy learners in B.C. acquire the literacy skills they need to improve their lives. This includes Indigenous language, numerical, digital and other forms of literacy. In B.C., the award is administered by the Ministry of Education.

Who is eligible?

­­This year, the award will go to a literacy-related organization in B.C. providing leadership in the field through partnerships and collaboration, and that demonstrates outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy. Selection of the recipient will be evidence-based.

Employees of the Government of British Columbia, members of the selection committee and their families, or past winners are not eligible for the British Columbia Council of the Federation Literacy Award.

Organizations may self-nominate.

What will the Council of the Federation Literacy Award winner receive?

Recognition will include a Council of the Federation Literacy medallion, a certificate from the Premier, an honorarium and public promotion.

Who do I contact if I have questions?

Please send an email to

When is the deadline? June 15, 2020

Each nominee/organization representative must provide signed consent to having their name, summary of achievements, and photograph released to the media and included in Government of British Columbia publications for publicity purposes associated with this award. 

Information collected through the nomination process is under the authority of 26(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, BC.

If you have any questions about the collection of personal information, please contact:

Director, Libraries Branch
Learning Division
Ministry of Education
PO Box 9831 Stn Prov Gov
Victoria, B.C., V8W 9T1
Toll Free (B.C. only): 1.800.663.7051

2019 Recipient

Morie Ford, Literacy Champion, Leader and Outreach Coordinator at Mount Pleasant Neighbourhood House

For over 30 years, Morie Ford has championed community-based literacy programs for adults and youth in the Lower Mainland. She has worked as a literacy tutor, mentor, facilitator, educator and board chair. Morie helped launch the ONE TO ONE literacy program, which recruits, trains and supports volunteer tutors to work with school-aged children. She also helped incorporate the Writers’ Exchange Society, a creative literacy program that connects Vancouver inner-city kids with volunteer tutors. As the current Family Outreach Coordinator at Mount Pleasant Neighborhood House (MPNH), Morie works with immigrant and refugee families to provide one to one, home-based, intergenerational literacy support. According to her nominators, Morie is a compassionate change-maker who has positively impacted many people’s lives through her hard work, true dedication, and big heart.