Traffic Safety Committee

The British Columbia Association of Chiefs of Police (BCACP) Traffic Safety Committee is the most active of all the BCACP committees and includes representatives from the RCMP, municipal police departments, the Insurance Corporation of British Columbia (ICBC), the Justice Institute of British Columbia and the provincial government.

The Traffic Safety Committee promotes road safety by identifying, prioritizing and addressing issues common to police and their partners, and by promoting legislative changes that increase road safety.

The Policing and Security Branch’s Road Safety Unit is the Secretariat of the BCACP Traffic Safety Committee. It acts as a liaison between government and the police and works to ensure the success of the road safety campaigns.