Acts and regulations

Last updated on June 23, 2021

Crown land is managed under the authority of three Acts of Legislation: the Land Act, the Ministry of Lands, Parks and Housing Act, and the University Endowment Lands Act.

The Land Act is the primary article of legislation that is used by the government to convey land to the public for community, industrial and business use. The Act allows the granting of land, and the issuance of Crown land tenure in the form of leases, licences, permits and rights-of-way.

Additional legislation referenced in Crown land policies and procedures:

Contact information

Toll Free
Outside North America Phone