Board Members

The Board consists of a number of part-time members including the chair and vice-chair, all which are appointed by the responsible Minister through a merit-based process.  The Board’s members have a range of backgrounds and perspectives, including legal expertise and expertise in the technical areas regulated by the Safety Standards Act.

In addition to the Board’s regular members, the Board has established a roster of technical experts it can call on from time to time should certain technical expertise be required to fairly adjudicate an appeal. 

The Board's current members are:

Terry Bergen

Terry Bergen is a Managing Principal in the Victoria office of Read Jones Christoffersen Ltd., a national engineering firm. His work is focused on the sustainable design, construction and renewal or rehabilitation of building enclosures and structures.  He is a certified construction contract administrator and has been actively involved in the delivery of construction projects for over two decades. Mr. Bergen is a member of and participant in several industry associations and is an avid supporter of trades and technical education programs, presenting as guest lecturer for construction and contract administration topics. He is a member of the ASTM Committee for Standard E60 – Sustainability, and he has previously served on the Board of Directors for Construction Specifications Canada.

Tim Haaf

Mr. Haaf is Plant Manager of Prince Rupert Generating Station, as well as Thermal Operations Project Mgr. with BC Hydro in its’ Thermal Generation Area. He is formerly the Operations Manager & Chief Power Engineer of the Burrard Generating Station in Port Moody. Prior to this position, Mr. Haaf has held positions as Chief Power Engineer at both Norampac Papermill in Burnaby, and Imperial Oil Refinery, in Norman Wells. He is a member of the Institute of Power Engineers, currently serving as Treasurer of the Vancouver Branch, and has served as Vice President and Social Director for the Institute.

Jeffrey Hand - Chair

Jeffrey Hand has practiced law in British Columbia since 1990, acting as counsel in claims involving commercial contracts, construction, design liability, insurance, bodily injury, environmental, workplace, and land development disputes. He has been a mediator and arbitrator since 2006 and holds Chartered Mediator and Chartered Arbitrator designations from the ADR Institute of Canada and the Chartered Arbitrators Institute, London. Since 2011 he has consistently been selected as a leading Commercial Mediator in both Canada and Internationally by Who's Who Legal.

As a mediator he has mediated over 300 disputes involving construction, insurance, bodily injury, motor vehicle, workplace discrimination, wrongful dismissal, motor carrier, and commercial contract claims. He sits on a number of Administrative Tribunals, including the Safety Standards Appeal Board, the Property Assessment Appeal Board, the Environmental Appeal Board, the Forest Appeals Commission, and the Oil and Gas Appeal Tribunal. Mr. Hand has been an Adjunct Professor at the University of British Columbia Law School since 1995 where he teaches both construction law and mediation advocacy.

David Martin

David Martin has practiced law in British Columbia since 1975, and since 1998 in the Yukon Territory. He practices Civil Litigation with an emphasis on Administrative and Public Law. He has appeared for clients at all levels of Court, including the Supreme Court of Canada. He has been recognized by Best Lawyers of Canada in Administrative, Public and Health Law.

Ted Simmons

Mr. Simmons is chief instructor of the Electrical Apprenticeship Program at BCIT. Prior to joining BCIT in 1989, he worked in the electrical field for many years as an electrician, foreman, project supervisor and from 1986 to 1989 as a provincial electrical inspector. Mr. Simmons is a member of the CSA Part I Regulatory Committee for the Canadian Electrical Code and is the current chair of Section 84 Cathodic Protection and current vice chair of Section 50 Solar Photovoltaic Systems. Mr. Simmons is also a long-serving member of the Electrical Wiring and Equipment Standards Committee, a technical subcommittee of the Electrical Safety Advisory Committee.