Winners & Finalists of the Premier's Awards for Excellence in Education Awards

Premier’s Awards finalists demonstrate the dedication and leadership of the many teachers, administrators and support staff working in B.C.'s educational system to make life better for students.

Each 2019 finalist is listed by category. You can also see winners and finalists from last year and watch the inspirational videos that portray their work. Videos for this year’s winners and finalists will be available after the awards ceremony on October 4, 2019.

2019 Finalists

Community Engagement

  • Finalist:  Alan Gee, Clarence Fulton Secondary School, SD 22 (Vernon)
  • Finalist:  Casey Litton, Nechako Valley Secondary School, SD 91 (Nechako Lakes)
  • Finalist:  Sheila Monroe, Okanagan Landing Elementary School, SD 22 (Vernon)

District Leadership

  • Finalist:  Jordan Kleckner, District Principal-Learning Technology, SD 23 (Central Okanagan)
  • Finalist:  Lisa McCullough, Superintendent, SD 48 (Sea to Sky)
  • Finalist:  Colleen Minnabarriet, Desert Sands Community School, SD 74 (Gold Trail)

Extracurricular Leadership

  • Finalist:  Sabha Ghani, Burnaby South Secondary School, SD 41 (Burnaby)
  • Finalist:  Paul Lilly, Ecole Chief Dan George Middle School, SD 34 (Abbotsford)
  • Finalist:  Scott Stefanek, Ecole Brantford Elementary School, SD 41 (Burnaby)

Indigenous Education

  • Finalist:  Maria Bruneau, Ecole Dr. Charles Best Secondary School, SD 43 (Coquitlam)
  • Finalist:  Ivy Chelsea, Chase Secondary School/Haldane Elementary School, SD 73 (Kamloops/Thompson)
  • Finalist:  Jordan Smith, Twin Rivers Education Centre, SD 73 (Kamloops/Thompson)

Outstanding New Teacher

  • Finalist:  Grace Broadfoot, J.V. Humphries Elementary & Secondary School, SD 8 (Kootenay Lake)
  • Finalist:  Robert French, South Central Interior Distance Education School, SD 58 (Nicola-Similkameen)
  • Finalist:  Prabhjot Grewal, North Delta Secondary School, SD 37 (Delta)

Outstanding Support – Teaching Assistant

  • Finalist:  Elaine Bayles, Glanford Middle School, SD 61 (Victoria)
  • Finalist:  Sandra Breslin, Prince Charles Elementary School, SD 34 (Abbotsford)
  • Finalist:  Marie Kielpinski, Mount Boucherie Secondary School, SD 23 (Central Okanagan)

Outstanding Support - School

  • Finalist:  Jodi Guy, Ecole Phoenix Middle School, SD 72 (Campbell River)
  • Finalist:  Dorothy Jones, A.L. Fortune Secondary School, SD 83 (North Okanagan-Shuswap)
  • Finalist:  Wendel Williams, Ecole Alpha Secondary School, SD 41 (Burnaby)

School Leadership

  • Finalist:  Carol DeFehr, Juniper Ridge Elementary School, SD 73 (Kamloops/Thompson)
  • Finalist:  Brett Hancock, District Principal-Learning Alternatives, SD 68 (Nanaimo)
  • Finalist:  Troy White, Ecole Kelowna Secondary School, SD 23 (Central Okanagan)

Social Equity & Diversity

  • Finalist:  Bryan Gidinski, Chaffey-Burke Elementary School, SD 41 (Burnaby)
  • Finalist:  Chad Jobe, Vast Centre/Learning Alternatives, SD 68 (Nanaimo-Ladysmith)
  • Finalist:  Antony Wilson, Mulgrave School (West Vancouver)

Technology and Innovation

  • Finalist:  Brendan Robertson, Ecole Beairsto Elementary School, SD 2 (Vernon)
  • Finalist:  Tammy Tomm, Columbia Park Elementary School, SD 19 (Revelstoke)
  • Finalist:  Denise Underwood, McGowan Park Elementary School, SD 73 (Kamloops/Thompson)

Past Winners & Finalists 

2018 Premier's Awards finalists with Premier John Horgan, and Ministry of Education Rob Flemming  

Community Engagement Award

  • Winner: Murray Sasges, Vernon Community school, SD 22 (Vernon)
  • Finalist: Shelly Peel, Mountview Elementary school, SD 27 (Cariboo-Chilcotin)
  • Finalist: Katrina Sumrall, Lucerne Elementary Secondary school, SD 10 (Arrow Lakes)

Diversity and Inclusion Award

  • Winner: Kim Halayko, Lillooet Secondary school, SD 74 (Gold Trail)
  • Finalist: Hasheem Hakeem, École Dr. Charles Best Secondary school, SD 43 (Coquitlam)
  • Finalist: Amelia Witt, Salmon Arm Secondary school – Sullivan Campus, SD 83 (North Okanagan-Shuswap)

Extracurricular Leadership Award

  • Winner: Tanya Adelborg, Randerson Ridge Elementary school, SD 68 (Nanaimo-Ladysmith)
  • Finalist: Sandra Chan, Richmond Secondary school, SD 38 (Richmond)
  • Finalist: Nancy Sinclair, Lakeview Elementary school, SD 41 (Burnaby)

Indigenous Education Award

  • Winner: Verna (Mandy) Jones, Ladysmith Secondary school, SD 68 (Nanaimo-Ladysmith)
  • Finalist: Melissa Austin, Saanich School District, SD 63 (Saanich)
  • Finalist: Emily Recalma, Nanaimo District Secondary school, SD 68 (Nanaimo-Ladysmith)

Outstanding New Teacher Award

  • Winner: Maymie Tegart, Blue River Elementary school, SD 73 (Kamloops/Thompson)
  • Finalist: Carmen McDowell, Glenrosa Middle school, SD 23 (Central Okanagan)
  • Finalist: Kirsten Tancon, Highland Secondary school, SD 71 (Comox Valley)

Outstanding Support Award

  • Winner: Jeannine Lindsay, Aboriginal support worker, Lake Trail Middle school, SD 71 (Comox Valley)
  • Finalist: Jacquie Grypink, educational assistant, Hillview Elementary school, SD 22 (Vernon)
  • Finalist: Richard Morgan, custodian, Penticton Secondary school, SD 67 (Okanagan Skaha)

School and District Leadership Award

  • Winner: Angelo Morelli, principal, École K.B. Woodward Elementary school, SD 36 (Surrey)
  • Finalist: Jay Dixon, principal, North Island Secondary school, SD 85 (Vancouver Island North)
  • Finalist: Diana Samchuck, superintendent, SD 81 (Fort Nelson)

Social Equity Award

  • Winner: Ryan Cho, Terry Fox Secondary school, SD 43 (Coquitlam)
  • Finalist: Michael Iachetta, Seaquam Secondary school, SD 37 (Delta)
  • Finalist: Anne Ostwald, Alberni District Secondary school, SD 70 (Alberni)

Technology and Innovation Award

  • Winner: Sean Robinson, École Riverside Secondary school, SD 43 (Coquitlam)
  • Finalist: Heather McIntosh, Mount Boucherie Secondary school, SD 23 (Central Okanagan)
  • Finalist: Carl Savage, École Ballenas Secondary school, SD 69 (Qualicum)