2012 Mine Rescue Competition

The 57th Annual Provincial Mine Rescue and First Aid Competition was held on June 9, 2012 in Revelstoke, B.C. Following the all-day competition, the Provincial Mine Rescue, First Aid and Safety Awards were handed out at the Revelstoke Community Centre.

Information on the winners of the 2012 competition can be found below. More information on the Mine Safety Awards can be found here.

First Aid Competition

  • Three-Person Miners' First Aid Trophy: Huckleberry Mines Ltd.
  • Kathy Lofstrom Memorial Trophy (Best Coach for Three-Person First Aid): Huckleberry Mines Ltd.

Surface Mine Rescue

  • Ron Brow Memorial Award (Best Extrication for Surface Team): Huckleberry Mines Ltd.
  • Maurice Boisse Memorial Tophy (Best Bench for Surface Team): Huckleberry Mines Ltd.
  • Levitt Safety Fire Trophy: Highland Valley Copper
  • Highest Non-Aggregate Points Trophy: Highland Valley Copper
  • Overall Surface Mine Rescue Trophy: Highland Valley Copper 

Underground Mine Rescue

  • Best Bench Technician Trophy: Ed Jolliffe, New Gold Inc.
  • USWA Mine-Mill Trophy (Best Underground Coordinator): Iaian Campbell, Quinsam Coal Corp.
  • Sullivan Cup (Best First Aid by Underground Team): Quinsam Coal Corp.
  • Barry Abbott Memorial Trophy (Best Bench for Underground Team): Myra Falls, Nyrstar
  • Keith Bracewell Memorial Award (Best Obstacle and Recovery): Myra Falls, Nyrstar
  • Levitt Safety Fire Trophy: Grand Cache Coal
  • Overall Underground Mine Rescue Trophy: Myra Falls, Nyrstar