2011 Mine Rescue Competition

The 56th Annual Provincial Mine Rescue and First Aid Competition was held on June 11, 2011 in Revelstoke, B.C. Following the all-day competition, the Provincial Mine Rescue, First Aid and Safety Awards were handed out at the Revelstoke Community Centre.

Information on the winners of the 2011 competition can be found below. More information on the Mine Safety Awards can be found here.  

First Aid Competition

  • Three-Person Miners' First Aid Trophy: Quinsam Coal Corporation
  • Kathy Lofstrom Memorial Trophy (Best Coach for Three-Person First Aid): Matt Vooro, Quinsam Coal Corporation

Surface Mine Rescue

  • Maurice Boisse Memorial Tophy (Best Bench for Surface Team): Elkview Coal, Teck
  • Ron Brow Memorial Award (Best Extraction for Surface Team): Huckleberry Mines Ltd.
  • Highest Non-Aggregate Points Trophy: Huckleberry Mines Ltd.
  • Overall Surface Mine Rescue Trophy: Elkview Coal, Teck

Underground Mine Rescue

  • Best Bench Technician Trophy: Kevin Mihalicz, New Afton, New Gold Inc.
  • USWA Mine-Mill Trophy (Best Underground Coordinator): Peter Prochotsky, New Afton, New Gold Inc.
  • Sullivan Cup (Best First Aid by Underground Team): Myra Falls Operation, NVI Mining Ltd.
  • Barry Abbott Memorial Trophy (Best Bench for Underground Team): New Afton, New Gold Inc.
  • Keith Bracewell Memorial Award (Best Obstacle and Recovery): New Afton, New Gold Inc.
  • Overall Underground Mine Rescue Trophy: New Afton, New Gold Inc.