2010 Mine Rescue Competition

The 55th Annual Provincial Mine Rescue and First Aid Competition was held on June 5, 2010 in Fernie, B.C. Following the all-day competition, the Provincial Mine Rescue, First Aid and Safety Awards were handed out at the Fernie Memorial Arena.

Information on the winners of the 2010 competition can be found below. More information on the Mine Safety Awards can be found here.

First Aid Competition

  • Three-Person Miners' First Aid Trophy: Greenhills Operations, TeckKathy Lofstrom Memorial Trophy (Best Coach for Three-Person First Aid): Greenhills Operations, Teck 

Surface Mine Rescue

  • Maurice Boisse Memorial Tophy (Best Bench for Surface Team): Highland Valley Copper, Teck
  • Highest Non-Aggregate Points Trophy: Greenhills Operations, Teck
  • Overall Surface Mine Rescue Trophy: Greenhills Operations, Teck 

Underground Mine Rescue

  • USWA Mine-Mill Trophy (Best Underground Coordinator): Rory McFadden, Myra Falls, NVI Mining Ltd.
  • Sullivan Cup (Best First Aid by Underground Team): Myra Falln, NVI Mining Ltd.
  • Barry Abbott Memorial Trophy (Best Bench for Underground Team): Quinsam Coal Corporation
  • Keith Bracewell Memorial Award (Best Obstacle and Recovery): Myra Falls, NVI Mining Ltd.
  • Overall Underground Mine Rescue Trophy: Myra Falls, NVI Mining Ltd.