Local Government Special Purpose Boards

Local government special purpose boards are created and empowered through provincial legislation to govern and provide specific services within a defined geographic area.

Okanagan Basin Water Board

Created in 1969 by Provincial statute, the Okanagan Basin Water Board's early mandate was to coordinate efforts of different orders of government to address issues related to water management across the Okanagan.

Currently the Okanagan Basin Water Board's membership consists of Directors from the Regional District of Central Okanagan, Regional District of North Okanagan, and the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen and representatives from the Okanagan Nation Alliance, the Water Supply Association of BC and the Okanagan Water Stewardship Council. The Board 's current mandate is to identify and resolve critical water issues in the Okanagan watershed.

Okanagan-Kootenay Sterile Insect Release Board

With the concentration of commercial pome fruit production in the Okanagan, Similkameen and Shuswap Valleys, area regional districts established sterile insect release services in the 1990's as an alternative to chemical control of codling moth populations found in the region.

Through legislation, the Province established the Okanagan-Kootenay Sterile Insect Release Board to administer these services. The Board's mandate is to reduce the use of pesticides and support local fruit producers. The Board consists of Directors from three regional districts (Regional District of Central Okanagan, Regional District of North Okanagan, and the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen), three grower representatives and two non-voting representatives from senior governments.

Cultus Lake Park Board

Cultus Lake Park is located in Electoral Area "H" of the Fraser Valley Regional District. The Fraser Valley Regional District is the local government for the area and provides services such as land use planning to residents within the Park.

The Cultus Lake Park Board, established in 1932, regulates, manages maintains and improves the 640 acres Cultus Lake Park located along the eastern shore of Cultus Lake. The land within the jurisdiction of the Board is held in trust by the City of Chilliwack.

The Cultus Lake Park Board consists of five elected commissioners representing the residents and leaseholders of the park, and the City of Chilliwack. Three of the commissioners are elected from the Cultus Lake Park area and two commissioners are elected by the City's electorate. The authority for the commissioners to carry out specific tasks is set out in legislation, An Act Respecting Cultus Lake Park.

Metro Vancouver Boards

There are two special purpose boards that operate within the Metro Vancouver Regional District:

  • Greater Vancouver Sewerage and Drainage District
  • Greater Vancouver Water District

The Metro Vancouver Regional District board elects a chair and vice chair for the two special boards at the inaugural meeting in November after the general local government election. After the inaugural meeting, each chair determines the board committees and their membership. Committees of the special boards make decision about priorities, policies and activities for their organizations, and make recommendations to the regional district board.

Greater Vancouver Sewerage and Drainage District

The Greater Vancouver Sewerage and Drainage District, established in 1956, provides sewage collection, treatment and disposal, as well as solid waste and drainage across the Lower Mainland. Seventeen municipal members are represented along with the Director for Electoral Area A.

Greater Vancouver Water District

The Greater Vancouver Water District, established in 1924, is a local government authority responsible for water quality and distribution throughout its member municipalities in the Lower Mainland. Eighteen municipal members and the Tsawwassen First Nation are represented along with the Director for Electoral Area A. The Greater Vancouver Water District is the largest water supply utility in the Lower Mainland.

Vancouver Park Board

The Vancouver Park Board was formed in 1888 as a committee to manage newly established Stanley Park. The authority for the Vancouver Park Board is set out in the Vancouver Charter. Its mission is to provide, preserve, and advocate for parks and recreation services to the residents of Vancouver as it has possession, jurisdiction and control over more than 230 public parks and indoor/outdoor recreation facilities in Vancouver.

The Vancouver Park Board is comprised of seven commissioners, who are elected at large for a four-year term during general local elections. The chair and the vice chair are elected by the commissioners for a one-year term.