Cowichan Nation Alliance

Current Activities

  • An alliance of 5 First Nations negotiating and building a collaborative government-to-government relationship with the Province to advance reconciliation, build understanding and shared opportunities and support the co operative resolution of disputes.

Treaty stage

  • Four of the First Nations - Cowichn Tribes, Halalt, Lyackson and Penelakut -are part of the Hul’qumi’num Treaty Group along with Lake Cowichan First Nation. Stz'uminus withdrew from the Hul’qumi’num Treaty Group in 2019. It is negotiatiing land and resource agreements with the B.C. Government outside the B.C. treaty process.

Other Agreements