Theme Mobile Menu

Organizational Structure

B.C.'s elected leaders and public servants are here to serve the citizens of B.C. and they're held accountable for their actions and decisions that impact residents. Learn about the different government bodies, the people that staff them and the work that they do.

For more information and educational resources visit the Parliamentary Education and Visitor Information site.

Lieutenant Governor

The Lieutenant Governor of B.C. represents the Queen at the provincial level in Canada and is the legal head of state in British Columbia, which means he or she acts as chief public representative and has the highest ranking position in the provincial government.

    Office of the Premier

    The Premier acts as the head of government for B.C., in other words, he or she is the first minister and chief officer of the executive branch.


      The B.C. Executive Council, otherwise known as the Cabinet of British Columbia, is made up of the Lieutenant Governor in Council, the Premier and Cabinet Ministers, of whom are members of the Legislative Assembly and selected by the Lieutenant Governor and Premier.

      Legislative Assembly

      The Legislature of British Columbia is composed of the Lieutenant Governor and 85 elected Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs).
      Together, members of the governing party, members of the opposition and independent members make up the B.C. Legislative Assembly.

        Ministries & Organizations

        The Government of B.C. is made up of ministries, agencies and Crown corporations.  Browse ministry, agency and Crown corporation websites for the latest news, service plans, publications and more.

        Public Service

        Members of the public service are the politically impartial government employees who are responsible for carrying out the day-to-day activities of government and for delivering public services to the citizens of B.C.