Electoral Boundaries Commission Act amendments

On May 7, 2014, amendments to the Electoral Boundaries Commission Act were passed by the B.C. Legislature. The amendments ensure that the existing number of northern and rural electoral districts will be maintained through the next boundary revision process, while also permitting the independent Electoral Boundaries Commission the discretion to propose up to 87 electoral districts provincewide.

British Columbia’s demographics have changed significantly since the act was first passed almost 25 years ago, and recent boundaries commissions have found it challenging to balance population growth with the need to ensure effective representation for northern and rural British Columbians.

The Electoral Boundaries Commission will continue to have the ability to recommend changes to the boundaries of all electoral districts, but it will be subject to a clear direction to preserve the existing number of electoral districts in three defined northern and rural regions of the province.

The Electoral Boundaries Commission Act White Paper details the amendments and was available for public comment from Nov. 14, 2013 to Jan. 15, 2014. Government received 63 comments all of which are available for viewing online.

For more information, see the Electoral Boundaries Commission Act White Paper, the Electoral Boundaries Commission Act and this news release.