Major Project Contacts for the Northeast Region

The Northeast region is bounded by the Rocky Mountains to the west, the Yukon and Northwest Territories borders to the north, the Alberta border to the east and Kakwa Provincial Park to the south. The region includes the communities of Dawson Creek, Chetwynd, Fort St. John and Fort Nelson.

Predominant natural resource industries include oil and natural gas production, forestry, mining, agriculture, clean energy and hydroelectric sectors.

Natural gas exploration and production and coal mining are growth sectors of the regional economy. The region has a highly-skilled and educated workforce.


  • Tumbler Ridge Wind Power Project
  • Roman Mountain Coal Mine
  • Site C Hydroelectric Project
  • Meikle Wind Energy Project
  • Babcock Creek Wind Power Project
  • Septimus Wind Power Project
  • Moose Lake Wind Power
  • Murray River Coal Mine