Designating a Provincial Fossil

The (former) Ministry of Agriculture and Lands and the British Columbia Paleontological Alliance (BCPA) sought input from the public on designating an official Provincial Fossil to be added to the official Provincial Symbols of British Columbia.

British Columbia’s list of official symbols and emblems include:

  • Pacific Dogwood - adopted as the floral emblem in 1956
  • Jade - adopted as official gemstone in 1968
  • Stellar’s Jay - adopted as official bird in 1987
  • Western Red Cedar - adopted as official tree in 1988
  • Spirit Bear - adopted as the mammal emblem in 2006

In Canada, Nova Scotia has designated an ancient reptile as its provincial fossil and Alberta has designated petrified wood as its provincial stone. In the United States, 40 states have designated an official state fossil.