About us

Our history

The following is extracted from
Sutherland Brown, Atholl, 1998. British Columbia’s Geological Surveys 1885-1995: A century of science and dedication. Geological Association of Canada, Pacific Section, Victoria, 157 p.

“The territory that was to become the Province of British Columbia started to develop after the signing of the Oregon Treaty of 1846 which resolved the conflicting claims of the United States and British North America. For a brief period there were two colonies, Vancouver Island and British Columbia, as well as the Queen Charlotte Islands and Stikine Territory in the north. These were consolidated into the single colony of British Columbia in 1866. The spur for these political developments was the perceived potential mineral wealth of the northern Cordilleran region following the discovery of coal on Vancouver Island in 1835, lode gold on the Queen Charlotte Islands in 1850 and placer gold on many interior rivers from 1855 forward. The colony became a Canadian province by joining Confederation in 1871 at a time when the science of geology was in the flush of its development and geological surveys were being established in many countries.

… the need for geological studies was clearly recognized before Union with Canada … and the province and the federal government jointly funded initial studies such as Amos Bowman’s geological mapping of the Cariboo goldfields in 1885. The need for more focused geological data and ready advice was soon recognized, resulting in the appointment of a Provincial Mineralogist and a Provincial Assayer and Analyst in 1895… From this small beginning the provincial geological survey developed.”


Our mission

Today, the Survey conducts research to establish the geological evolution of the province and assess its mineral resources. New and historical information provided by the Survey is used for sound land use management, effective mineral exploration, and responsible governance. This information benefits decisions that attempt to balance the economy, the environment, and community interests.

Survey activities serve government, the general public, First Nations, local communities, the minerals industry, public safety agencies, environmental groups, and other research organizations.


Our staff

Office phone:  1 250 952-0372

Email: Geological.Survey@gov.bc.ca

Mailing Address: PO Box 933 Stn Prov Gov’t Victoria, BC V8W 9N3

Physical Address: 1810 Blanshard St, Victoria, BC V8T 4J1

Adrian Hickin

Melanie Mitchell. BCGS Branch Coordinator

Fil FerriLarry JonesGordon Clarke

Larry Diakow. Senior Minerals GeologistYao Cui. Senior Geomatics GeoscientistManpreet Rai. MDO Branch Coordinator

Travis Ferbey. Quaternary GeologistKirk Hancock. Mineral Resource Geoscientist

Tian Han. Senior Digital Information GeoscientistLawrence Aspler. Science EditorHealth and Safety Branch. Fiona Katay and John DeGrace are part of this branch

Mitch Mihalynuk. Senior Minerals GeologistGabe Fortin. Geomatics GeoscientistBruce Northcote. BCGS Regional Geologist for the Southwest

Dejan Milidragovic. Senior Minerals Geologist, NickelTed Fuller. Mineral Assessment GeoscientistFiona Katay. Health & Safety Branch. Regional Geologist for the Southeast

Graham Nixon. Senior Minerals GeologistDeanna Miller. GIS GeoscientistJohn DeGrace. Health & Safety Branch. Regional Geologist for the Northeast & North Central

Luke Ootes. Senior Minerals Geologist, GoldJessica Norris. Mineral Assessment GeoscientistHealth & Safety Branch. Regional Geologist for the Northwest. Currently Vacant

Janet Riddell. Provincial Coal GeologistSarah Meredith-Jones. Mineral Inventory GeologistHealth & Safety Branch. Regional Geologist for the South Central. Currently Vacant

Alexei Rukhlov. Provincial GeochemistSteven Zhao. Geomatics Specialist

Paul Schiarizza. Senior Minerals Geologist

George Simandl. Senior Minerals Geologist

Bram van Straaten. Senior Minerals Geologist, Copper

Holly Arnold. Geomorphology and GIS Specialist

JoAnne Nelson. Emeritus Scientist

Ray Lett. Emeritus Scientist