Designated Areas

Designated Rural/Remote Areas

Ten regional districts have been designated in the Meat Inspection Regulation (MIR) as rural remote areas ("designated areas"), based on a combination of the following criteria:

  • The absence of licenced slaughter facilities
  • Low population density
  • Small livestock numbers
  • Transportation barriers (e.g. required marine transportation or seasonal road closures)

Small-scale livestock producers in designated areas will be able to apply for both Class D and E licences.

The ten designated regional districts are: Central Coast, Kitimat-Stikine, Mount Waddington, Northern Rockies, Powell River, Skeena-Queen-Charlotte, Squamish-Lillooet, Stikine, Strathcona (Mainland and Discovery Islands portion only) and Sunshine Coast.

(click map to enlarge)
Designated Area Thumbnail

Nondesignated Areas

In the 18 nondesignated areas, small-scale producers may apply for Class E licences only. Class E licences will only be issued in cases where an operator demonstrates a clear need for additional slaughter capacity, or requires services that are not available through an existing Class A or B facility (for example, species-specific slaughter or specialty slaughter services such as certified organic, halal, or kosher).

Before being eligible to apply for a licence, interested operators must submit a Class E feasibility study. If approved, the operator may proceed with the licence application process.

Feasibility studies will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis and applicants will be notified in writing of their eligibility to apply for a Class E licence.

For more information, contact your regional health authority.