CMS Lite Topic Template
The Topic Template consists of tabs and components used to create all the elements of a web page, along with action buttons to save, preview and publish content to the Production web server and check links on the page.
The 'floating' Action buttons will move up and down the Content Pane so they are always accessible when you are creating or editing content. The 'hyperlink' breadcrumb at the top to the Content Pane allows you to move quickly to a parent page within your security group. The icons on either side to the Page Title indicate if the page is locked and if it has met validation requirements.
Page is locked by you
Page is locked by another user
Page has met validation requirements
Page has not met validation requirements
Action buttons presented on the Content Pane are based on the status of the node. For example, if the page has been previously published and is now locked by another user, the only available actions will be to View QA, Unlock, Publish, Unpublish and View Prod. If a page has never been published to the Production web server then the Unpublish and View Prod will not display.
When a page is in a state of being published (IN_PROGRESS); Save, Delete and Cancel become unavailable until the job has completed. Only View QA, Unlock, Publish, Unpublish and View Prod will be displayed until the job is complete and the content pane is refreshed.
When an action button is invoked it applies to the entire template, not just the tab currently displayed.
Saves the content from all tabs to the database.
- When the [Save] action is invoked, content editors may include a Modification Reason in the Save dialog box. This will appear above the tabs until the page is published. An icon will be displayed, to the right of the Modification field, if the Revert Body to Prod action button has been invoked, or Bulk Tagging has been used to modify the page.
- Hovering over the icon will display one of the following messages:
- The body of content has been reverted back to Prod
- Metadata has been applied via Bulk Tagging
Locks the page from being edited by another user.
- The page remains locked until it is published or someone that has security access to the page unlocks the page
Unlocks the page for editing.
- An email will be sent when you unlock another person's page
- When unlocking a person's page, consider the impacts.
- page is in a state of modification - maybe they are still making edits to it. Best practice would be to contact them first
- it will no longer show up in their Content Status Grid once it has been modified by another user
Publishes the template displayed in the right-pane.
- The Publish action will invoke a final save of the content to the database
- A progress message will be displayed next to the Page Title above the template tabs
- Page is no longer locked when the job has completed
Upublishes the template displayed in the right-pane.
- Removes the page from the Production web sever
- Still accessible within the CMS Lite application
- Remains on the QA database
Opens a browser window to the view the last published content to the Production web server.
- If the page is currently being modified, then QA and Prod will be different
- If you select View Prod and do not see the content changes:
- do not select the Publish action again
- check the Workflow Status Grid on the Home page to see if the job failed. If yes, use the [Retry] action
Cancels any modifications made to the template since the last time the [Save] action was invoked.
- Example: if you delete a right-column component in error, select the Cancel action and it will be replaced
This removes the content from the QA and Prod web servers, as well as the CMS Lite application.
- The content remains in the database
- To restore a deleted template, submit a request to the COS Service Desk
Link Checker Report
Checks the accuracy of links on the QA version of a page.
- Read the Link Checker Reports Details for more information
Revert Body to PROD
Once a page has been submitted to the Production web server and has subsequently been modified and saved, this new action button will be displayed.
- If invoked, the Body text will be replaced with the content in the Production database
- After the action is invoked the [Revert Body to PROD] action button will be hidden until another modification to the page is saved
- No other fields will be reverted
- An icon will appear next to the Modification reason field (see Save above)
The following components (tabs) are used to develop a web page:
Settings (includes Title and Nav Title)
Topic (Intro and Body of page)1
Metadata (government defined terms)1
Tags (collections created by content groups)
1 Body and Metadata must be completed before a page can be published