Content Navigation Pane

When a page is created in the CMS Lite a unique ID (GUID) is assigned to the page settings.  This allows for pages to be moved from one topic to another, within your security group, without breaking existing links.  Simply drag and drop the node for from one location to another in the Navigation Tree.

As well as different icons in the Navigation Tree, you may also encounter different coloured Nav Title text.  The colours represent different states the page may be in. 

Black text: content has been published to the Production web server at least once

Light blue text: indicates net-new content that has never been published to the Production web server

Red text: content encountered page validation issues on last save.  The page could be net-new or a page that is currently on the Production web server that is in a state of modified

Action Drop-Down Menu

Action drop-down menu

To apply any of the actions in the menu, at least one page node must be selected.  

New Page: select one parent node to add a topic new page beneath it. The page will be titled 'New Page' and will be assigned a unique Page Path and ID (GUID) upon creation. See Setting Tab for more details.

  • Up to 20 pages may be created each time the New Page action is used
  • If more than one node is selected, the menu item will be greyed out

Clone Page: select one page to clone.  This feature will replicate all data in the page and appended the page title with '- clone'. 

  • Up to 20 pages may be cloned each time the Clone Page action is used
  • If more than one node is selected, the menu item will be greyed out

Clone Page With Children: select one parent page to clone. This feature will replicate all data in the parent page and its children.  Each page will be appended with the page title with '- clone'.

New External Link:  select one location to add a new link to an external web page. 

  • If more than one node is selected, the menu item will be greyed out
  • Only one external link may be created at one time

Delete:  select one or more nodes to be deleted.  Deleting removes the node from the Quality assurance (QA )web server and the Production (Prod) web server if the page has been published.

  • If a page is deleted in error, you will need to submit a request to the COS Service Desk to have the page restored

Lock:  select one or more nodes to be locked. 

  • Once a page is locked by you it cannot be edited by another user until it is unlocked

Unlock Selected:  select one or more nodes to be unlocked. 

  • You cannot edit a page that is locked by another user until it is unlocked
  • If you unlock a page locked by another user, an email notification will be sent to the user
  • It is not necessary to unlock a page before publishing it

Bulk Tag Metadata and Terms to Selected: select one or more nodes to apply terms to selected pages. 

Bulk Tag Metadata and Terms to Selected and Their Children: select one or more nodes to apply terms to selected pages and all child nodes. 

Publish Selected: select one or more nodes to be published. 

  • A final save to the database of all selected pages will be performed before publishing to the Production web server

Publish Selected With Children:  select a Parent node and all child pages will be published. 

  • All pages will be validated prior to successfully publishing to the Production web server

Unpublish Selected:  select one or more nodes to be unpublished immediately.

  • Unpublished page(s) remain on the QA server, but are removed from the Production web server, including the link from the left-hand navigation

When publishing page(s), from the Action Menu, that do not meet validation a red error message will be displayed in the upper-right corner and you will be immediately notified via an email titled “ Publish Job Failed - Validation Errors” with a list of page(s) that need to be fixed.  When publishing a single page via the [Publish] action button, the same message will be displayed but no email will be invoked.

unsuccessful publish validation message

The government Site structure allows for content to be created to a maximum of level eight.  If you attempt to create content below level 8 an error message will be displayed.
level error message