Regional Economic Operations

Regional Economic Operations staff are located in every region of the province to assist communities in planning and implementing their economic development and diversification priorities.

Regional Economic Operations staff work directly with local governments, Indigenous communities, businesses and economic development agencies to build economic development capacity, support business retention and expansion, and facilitate development of key sectors in rural BC. In addition, the Regional Economic Operations team delivers Community Transition Services that support communities in mitigating and recovering from economic shocks such as a mill or mine closure and natural disasters.

REO staff facilitate a range of services designed to build and grow local economies, including:

  • Economic development assistance to support community and regional needs and opportunities through:
    • Economic development planning
    • Business retention and expansion, including support designed to attract new business to the community and Indigenous economic development.
    • Investment readiness, including identifying funding sources
    • Sector-specific development based on local community needs and strengths
  • Support  for communities experiencing economic dislocations or the loss of a major employer through tailored Community Transition Services

To deliver these services, REO staff partner with:

  • Indigenous communities
  • Local governments
  • Businesses
  • Economic development agencies

REO Sub Regions

REO Contact Information

Contact a regional manager in your area:

Kathy Lachman | Director

Office: 250-739-8293

Email: Kathy.Lachman@gov.bc.ca


Claire Allen | Community Adjustment Manager 

Office: 604-213-0395

Email: Claire.Allen@gov.bc.ca


Peggy Grant | Project Administrator

Office: 250-739-8346

Email: Peggy.Grant@gov.bc.ca

Dale Richardson | Director | Northern Region

Office: 250-628-0755

Email: Dale.Richardson@gov.bc.ca


Darlene Clark | Regional Manager | Cariboo Region

Office: 250-312-6759

Email:  Darlene.clark@gov.bc.ca


Tamara Danshin | Regional Manager | Northeast

Office: 250-261-2091

Email: Tamara.Danshin@gov.bc.ca


Isher Lehal | Community Transition Analyst

Office: 250-302-3575

Email: Isherpal.Lehal@gov.bc.ca


Brad McRobert | Regional Manager | Bulkely-Nechako

Office: 250-570-0620

Email: Brad.McRobert@gov.bc.ca


Marc von der Gonna | Regional Manager | North Coast

Office: 778-702-1416

Email: Marc.vonderGonna@gov.bc.ca

 

South Coast Region Contact List

Kathy Lachman | Director | South Coast Region

Office: 250-739-8293

Email: Kathy.Lachman@gov.bc.ca


Bridget Horel | Regional Manager | Vancouver Island North

Office: 250-850-1770

Email: Bridget.Horel@gov.bc.ca


Wendy Koh | Regional Manager | Lower Mainland/Fraser Valley

Office: 778-572-3015

Email: Wendy.Koh@gov.bc.ca


Cheryl McLay | Regional Manager | Vancouver Island/Coast

Office: 250-739-8223

Email: Cheryl.McLay@gov.bc.ca

 

Southern Interior Region Contact List

Marc Imus | Director | Southern Interior Region

Office: 250-312-7289

Email: Marc.Imus@gov.bc.ca


Gerri Brightwell | Regional Manager | East & Central Kootenay

Office: 236-527-2021

Email: Gerri.Brightwell@gov.bc.ca


Myles Bruns | Regional Manager | Thompson/Central Okanagan

Office: 250-312-7322

Email: Myles.Bruns@gov.bc.ca


Kimberley Goodall | A/Policy/Program Analyst

Office: 250-312-7249

Email: Kimberley.Goodall@gov.bc.ca


Larry Olson | Regional Manager | South Okanagan/Boundary

Office: 250-488-0934

Email: Larry.Olson@gov.bc.ca


Richard Toperczer | Regional Manager | North Okanagan/Shuswap/Slocan

Office: 778-943-6993

Email: Richard.Toperczer@gov.bc.ca