Aspects of Healthy Living

The healthy living performance standards provide educators, students and families with a common set of expectations for student development in four categories or aspects. Each of these aspects has more than one component:

  • Healthy Eating
  • Active Living
  • Healthy Relationships
  • Healthy Practices

The four aspects capture the significant themes in the curriculum related to healthy living learning outcomes but do not represent all concepts addressed within these BC curricula. Each aspect has cross–curricular applications, as learning outcomes represent the areas of Physical Education, Daily Physical Activity, Health and Career Education, Planning, Graduation Transitions, and Home Economics (Foods and Nutrition and Family Studies).