Knowledge transfer process

Last updated: May 19, 2021

Knowledge transfer can be done in a variety of ways. While the specifics may differ between situations, the general Knowledge Transfer Process (PDF, 104KB) has four phases:

  1. Identify
  2. Prioritize
  3. Capture and transfer
  4. Share and store

Knowledge Transfer Process

Phase 1: Identify

This phase involves identifying what knowledge needs to be transferred.

  • Understanding the knowledge required to do the work
  • Identifying knowledge of value that should be transferred. Is the knowledge tacit or explicit?

Phase 2: Prioritize

This phase involves prioritizing the knowledge that needs to be transferred based on factors, such as importance, availability, and frequency.

Phase 3: Capture and transfer

This phase involves using different approaches to capture and transfer the knowledge. Often knowledge transfer occurs during the capture process.

  • Determining the best approaches to capture and transfer the knowledge
  • Capturing and transfer the knowledge using a variety of approaches
  • Following information security and privacy guidelines

Phase 4: Share and store

This phase is essential to ensuring that the work done in the previous 2 phases provides ongoing value and support to your team.

  • Keeping information up to date
  • Organizing information so it's easily found and readily available
  • Sharing information broadly while ensuring information meets security and privacy requirements