

January 12, 2018

File: 44200-60 QATE

## **DELIVERED BY E-MAIL**

Jim Collins, Chair BC Broiler Hatching Egg Commission

Gunta Vitins, Chair BC Egg Marketing Board Robin Smith, Chair BC Chicken Marketing Board

Philip Hochstein, Chair BC Turkey Marketing Board

Ben Janzen, Chair BC Milk Marketing Board

Dear Chairs:

## **QUOTA ASSESSMENT REVIEW – TIMELINE UPDATE**

Further to my letter of November 24, 2017 (attached), I am writing to provide a further update on the BC Farm Industry Review Board (BCFIRB) quota review on behalf of the BCFIRB supervisory panel carrying out the review. The panel consists of John Les (Chair), Diane Pastoor, Al Sakalauskas, Daphne Stancil, Corey Van't Haaff and Chris Wendell. While Mr. Wendell's appointment to BCFIRB expired on December 31, 2017, Mr. Wendell has been retained per authority under the *Administrative Tribunals Act (BC)* as a panel member on this review until it is complete.

As you know, the BCFIRB panel has been actively working to determine what changes may be needed to BCFIRB's current quota management policies and directions to continue to support industry growth. Please be assured that the conclusion of this review and the issuance of a decision remains a top priority for the panel.

British Columbia Farm Industry Review Board Mailing Address: PO Box 9129 Stn Prov Govt Victoria BC V8W 9B5 Telephone: 250 356-8945 Facsimile: 250 356-5131 Location: 1<sup>st</sup> Floor, 780 Blanshard Street Victoria BC V8W 2H1

Email: firb@gov.bc.ca Website:<u>www.gov.bc.ca/BCFarmIndustryReviewBoard</u> Jim Collins Robin Smith Gunta Vitins Philip Hochstein Ben Janzen Page 2

While the BCFIRB panel has been working to release its decision by January 15, the panel is now anticipating the decision will be released as early as possible in late January or early February, with a target no later than February 9, 2018. The panel understands the importance of this decision and all members are committed to finalizing a decision as soon as possible.

The panel appreciates your support and understanding.

Yours truly,

Church

Kirsten Pedersen Executive Director

cc: Executive Directors and General Managers Supply Managed Commodity Boards

Wes Shoemaker, Deputy Minister Ministry of Agriculture

James Mack, Assistant Deputy Minister Agriculture Science and Policy Ministry of Agriculture

BCFIRB web site