

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release 2008EMPR0029-000624 April 24, 2008 Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources

GOVERNMENT CONFIRMS POSITION ON URANIUM DEVELOPMENT

VICTORIA – The Province will not support the exploration and development of uranium in British Columbia and is establishing a "no registration reserve" under the Mineral Tenure Act for uranium and thorium, Minister of State for Mining Kevin Krueger announced today.

"By confirming our position on these radioactive minerals, we are providing certainty and clarity to the mining industry," said Krueger. "B.C. is an attractive place for mining exploration and investment, and we are committed to fostering a healthy, productive industry."

The "no registration reserve" will ensure any future claims do not include the rights to uranium. Government will also ensure that all uranium deposits will remain undeveloped. These changes support the BC Energy Plan commitment of no nuclear power.

Uranium is present in many areas of the province and can be encountered while exploring for other mineral resources. Therefore, the Province will also amend the Health, Safety and Reclamation Code concerning exploration for minerals where uranium or thorium are incidentally encountered. The amendments are designed to enhance the protection of workers and the public during exploration-related activities. The amendments also ensure that B.C.'s standards for exploration are consistent with national standards and guidelines.

Today, there is no uranium mining in the province. Development and mining of uranium in Canada is regulated by the federal government through the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission. The only uranium mines operating in Canada are in Saskatchewan.

-30-

Media Jake Jacobs

contact: Public Affairs Officer

Ministry of Energy, Mines and

Petroleum Resources

250 952-0628

250 213-6934 (cell)

For more information on government services or to subscribe to the Province's news feeds using RSS, visit the Province's website at www.gov.bc.ca.