BC Farm Industry Review Board

January 13, 2022 File: 44200-60\AREV

DELIVERED BY EMAIL

Rose-Mary Basham, Q.C. Basham Law

Dear Ms. Basham:

PARTICIPATION

I write in response to your letter of January 12, 2022. In that letter, MPL British Columbia Distributors Inc. (MPL) has sought:

- a) extensions of time to provide a list of proposed witnesses, and to apply to call additional witnesses:
- b) leave to lead the evidence in chief of Paul Mastronardi; and
- c) leave to call and lead the evidence-in-chief of Trevor Jones and Ravi Cheema as additional witnesses.

As you are aware, MPL was offered an opportunity to participate as of right in the Notice of Supervisory Review dated May 26, 2021, but formally declined to participate by way of letter dated July 19, 2021. As a prerequisite to granting any of the relief MPL now seeks, I must first determine whether MPL is entitled to participate in light of the fact the hearing is scheduled to commence in less than three weeks.

I therefore invite MPL to provide me with written submissions on or before Monday January 17, 2022 which will address the rationale for MPL's change in position, as well as the application to call additional witnesses.

Any counsel wishing to respond to MPL's submissions, or the other issues raised in the January 12 letter, should do so **on or before January 21, 2022**. Those submissions should address, inter alia, what, if any, prejudice may arise from MPL's participation in the supervisory review at this stage of the process.

 Web:
 Phone:
 Mail:

 Email:
 firb@gov.bc.ca
 Info: 250 356-8945
 PO Box 912

 Website:
 www.gov.bc.ca/BCFarmIndustryReviewBoard
 Fax: 250 356-5131
 Victoria BC V

Mail:OfficePO Box 9129 Stn Prov Govt2975Victoria BC V8W 9B5Victor

Office: 2975 Jutland Rd Victoria, BC V8T 5J9 Rose-Mary Basham, Q.C. January 13, 2022 Page 2

Please address submissions to myself, and send to <u>Wanda.Gorsuch@gov.bc.ca</u>, copied to firb@gov.bc.ca.

Regards,

Peter Donkers

Chair

cc: Ravi Hira, Q.C.

Robert Hrabinsky

Dean Dalke

Kenneth McEwan, Q.C

Claire Hunter, Q.C.

Robert McDonell

Nazeer Mitha, Q.C.

Mark Underhill

Kate Phipps