Health Technology Assessment Committee

The Health Technology Assessment Committee makes evidence-informed recommendations to a committee of senior ministry and health authority executives about whether a technology should be publicly provided.

The committee is comprised of a member from the ministry and each of the province’s six health authorities, as well as a scientific advisor, health economist, ethicist and a member of the public.


Health Authority Representatives

Dr. Darryl Samoil, Co-chair
Chief Medical Information Officer, Fraser Health

James Coyle
Director, Health Systems Evaluations, Interior Health

Angela De Smit
Chief Operating Officer, Northern Interior, Northern Health

Dr. Patricia Daly
Chief Medical Health Officer and VP Public Health, Vancouver Coastal Health

Dr. Jim Hutchinson
Island Health Medical Director, Medical Imaging, Island Health

Dr. Nick Foster
VP Consolidated Services, Clinical & Systems Transformation & Special Projects, Provincial Health Services

Ministry Representative

Heather Davidson, Co-chair
Assistant Deputy Minister, Partnerships and Innovation Division, Ministry of Health

BC Clinical and Support Services Representative

Berna Marcelino
A/VP, Supply Chain, BC Clinical and Support Services

Professional Members

Arminée Kazanjian
Scientific Advisor

Mark Harrison
Health Economist

Katherine Duthie

Public Member

Sek Cheung


Kirn Khaira
Director, Research and Innovation Branch, Ministry of Health

Kent Maynard
Senior Health Economist, Research and Innovation Branch, Ministry of Health

Maureen Neuman
Senior Policy Analyst, Research and Innovation Branch, Ministry of Health

May Robson