History Tab

The History tab will display the history of each action performed on a template. All three columns may be sorted in ascending or descending order. By default, the grid will be sorted by the Date column, with the most recent information showing first. By default, the grid will display 10 results; however, you may use the Results Per Page to display 25 or 50 results per page.

The following information will be tracked:

  • The date and time the action was invoked
  • The IDIR account name of the person that invoked the action
  • The action that was invoked

The following actions will be tracked:

  • When a page is first created (New page; location [breadcrumb/new-page-xxxx])
  • When a page path is modified (Page Path Updated)
    • Old Page Path: xxx
    • New Page Path: xxx
  • When a page is saved (Saved page)
  • When a page is cloned 
    • Original page:  Cloned page; clones - 60138131A9A54C85BB7C263094E9EE61 ‚Äč
    • Cloned page: New page; cloned from B03AD5B4CD1A48A09531761743F62D22 
  • When a page is published, and the version (Published page (vX)), where X is the version number
  • When a page is unpublished (Unpublished page)
  • When a page is moved (Page moved)
    • New location: page path [breadcrumb] (GUID)
    • Old location: page path [breadcrumb] (GUID)
  • When the [Revert body to PROD] action button is invoked 
  • When bulk tagging is applied to a page (Applied Bulk Tagging)
  • When the [Revert] action is used in the History tab (Reverted page to historic version dated [date and time])
  • When a security group added to a page (Applied security group (group_name))
  • When a security group removed from a page (Removed security group (group_name))

Data, Review & Revert

CMS Lite users can view historical versions of a page, copy specific data or revert to a previous version.

  1. Data: shows the page data in tabs, similar to what you will see in the Content Pane of CMS Lite
    • Tag collections, metadata, or security settings are not included in the Data output view
  2. Review: displays content in a web browser similar to the public view on the Production web server, but without the header, footer, or left navigation
  3. Revert: allows content editors to revert an entire page template to a previous saved or published version

The [Data] and [Review] action buttons will open in a new browser or tab, based on user settings. 

Each time a page is saved, a Data, Review and Revert action button will be added to the previous saved line item in the History table.  When a page is published the interim Data, Review and Revert buttons will no longer be displayed for each Save action.  

Before recent changes are published
Click image to view in full screen
history tab before new changes are published

After recent changes are published

Click image to view in full screen
history tab after new version is published

Note:  when a page is published using the action button, a new saved action line item will appear in the History tab

Data

  1. Click on the [Data] button in the History table
    The selected template will be displayed in a new browser tab or window. Click image to view in full screen
    history data view of template
  2. Select the applicable tab and copy the content to be reverted
    • Tabs will vary depending on the content.  For example, if no right-column boxes exist in the content, then the tab will not appear in the Data window
  3. Return to the current template and paste the copied content into the applicable location

Review

  1. Click on the [Review] button in the History table
    The selected content will be displayed in a new browser tab or window. Click image to view in full screen
    history review browser sample
  2. Close the browser once the content review has been completed

Revert

  1. Click on the [Review] button in the History table
    The Revert message dialogue box will be displayed
    revert page message dialog box
  2. Click [Confirm] to complete the action, or [Close] to cancel
    The selected version will be displayed in the Content pane