Privacy

Collection of Personal Information

Your personal information is collected for the following purposes:

  • Applying for a BC Services Card
  • Using your BC Services Card online

BC Services Card policies and procedures regarding the collection, use and disclosure of personal information are governed by sections 26 (c), 26 (h), and 32 and 33 of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Applying for a BC Services Card

Your personal information may be used for:

  • Application for a BC Services Card and its authorized programs
  • Enrolment in the Medical Services Plan
  • Application for a B.C. Driver's Licence (where applicable)

Personal information is collected - The information that is printed on your BC Services Card is collected and used by the BC Services Card Program to confirm your identity and eligibility to obtain a card.

Medical and driving records are not linked - A health care provider will not be able to access your driving record and a police officer or ICBC employee will not have access to your health records using the card.

Using Your BC Services Card Online

Your personal information is used for:

  • Access to online services using your BC Services Card

Option to provide email address - You have the option of providing your email address to the BC Services Card Program. If you choose to provide your email address, it will be used and disclosed according to the preferences you have selected in your account. The BC Services Card Program will not use your email address for any reason other than what you have selected.

Notification of information sharing - The BC Services Card Program notifies you of the personal information that will be shared with the online services that you access. You have the option of viewing this notification every time you access an online service.

Access information is recorded - The BC Services Card Program records when and how you use your card and the online service that you access. This information is used to protect your security and is displayed to you in your account history. The name of the service you accessed is stored for 30 days. Information is not recorded about your activity once you have logged in to an online service.